The Village of Brownville Board


The Village Office is located in the Town Hall (the Opera House).  The office is open from 9-10 am Monday through Friday.  

Chairman: Martin F. Hayes

Co-Chairman:  Martin Hansen

Board Member:  Paul Fish


Board Member:  Bob Sailors

Board Member:  Andrea Rinkleff

Village & Water Clerk:  Kay Fish

Water & Sewer Commissioner:  Martin Hansen

Fire Department President:  James "Salty" Smith

Fire Chief:  J.D. Gentert

Rescue Squad Captain:  Becky Gauchat

Fire Permits:  Paul Fish


Village Information

Merchants of Brownville

The Merchants of Brownville is a group of businesses, organizations and individuals that work to support and sustain the annual calendar of events brochure, this website, and events throughout the year in the Village.  

President:  Ron Heskett, Whiskey Run Creek Winery


Vice President:  Jane Smith, River Inn Resort & Spirit of Brownville

Secretary & Treasurer:  John & Mary Lauber, Mary's Emporium &  Brownville Market

2016 Members


The Cottage - Jan McMullen

Flatwater Folk Art Museum - George Neubert

Mary's Emporium - Mary Lauber

Brownville Market - Mary Lauber

Whiskey Run Creek Winery - Ron Heskett

River Inn Resort - Jane & Randel Smith

Spirit of Brownville - Jane & Randel Smith

The Antiquarium & Bill Farmer Gallery - Thomas Rudloff

Brownville Tours - John Lauber

Dogrose Studios

New Earth Clay Pottery

The Lyceum - Anita Robertson

This & That Off Main

Sitting Pretty Books

Sweetwater Brooms

Deer Run Suite & Pierce Cottage

The Bluebird


Brownville Celebration & Freedom Run

Brownville Fine Arts Association - Caroline Allen

Brownville Concert Series - Jan Chism Wright

Brownville Historical Society - Bob Chitwood

Brownville Village Theatre - Chet Harper

Village of Brownville


Mary Kruger

Caroline Allen

Mary Ann Chaney

Jan Chism Wright

George Neubert

Eva Neubert

​Heather Pemberton

Historic Brownville, NE